Launches: Man in spacesuit viewed through window of spacecraft.

EarthSky | Launches: Expedition 67 takes off for the ISS

At the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan, NASA astronaut Frank Rubio performs pre-flight checks in the Soyuz MS-22 spacecraft. Later, Rubio was launched with his crewmates and Roscosmos cosmonauts Sergey Prokopyev and Dmitry Petelin on September 21, 2022. This launch is, in this case, for a 6-month mission on the International Space Station. Read more in Launches. Image via NASA/Victor Zelentsov.

Launches: Expedition 67 takes off for the ISS

A Russian Soyuz spacecraft carrying an American astronaut and two cosmonauts took off today (Wednesday, September 21, 2022), heading to the International Space Station on Expedition 67. The flight finally took place after a delay of six months. Additionally, NASA announced the successful launch via the ISS blog:

NASA astronaut Frank Rubio and Roscosmos cosmonauts Sergey Prokopyev and Dmitry Petelin safely in orbit on the Soyuz MS-22 spacecraft after launch at 9:54 a.m. ET (1:54 p.m. UTC) from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan (6:54 p.m. Baikonur time).

Three hours later, the craft docked with the ISS at 1:06 p.m. ET (17:06 UTC), NASA reported. Now, with three other space travelers at the station, the orbiting population is 10 people:

Once on station, the trio will join Expedition 67 Commander Oleg Artemyev, cosmonauts Denis Matveev and Sergey Korsakov of Roscosmos, as well as NASA astronauts Bob Hines, Kjell Lindgren, Jessica Watkins and astronaut ESA (European Space Agency) Samantha Cristoforetti. Rubio, Prokopyev and Petelin will spend six months aboard the orbiting laboratory.

Currently, the three new crew members entered the station at 3:34 p.m. ET (7:34 p.m. UTC). Later, the ISS will reunite with a crew of seven by the end of the month, as three cosmonauts return to Russia. NASA said:

Roscosmos cosmonauts Oleg Artemyev, Denis Matveev and Sergey Korsakov will return to Earth on September 29 aboard the Soyuz MS-21 spacecraft, currently docked with the space station, for a parachute-assisted landing in the Kazakh steppe.

Conclusion: An American astronaut and two Russian cosmonauts are now aboard the ISS after lifting off on the morning of September 21, 2022.

#EarthSky #Launches #Expedition #takes #ISS

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.